Officers and Board Members


President Steve Glass
Vice-president David Belford
Treasurer Monica Yaple
Secretary Marsha Dunlap

Board members

Steve Glass, President

Board member since 2008. Steve Glass is currently serving as President of the OSA. Steve graduated from NM State University in 1976 with an MS in Environmental Science and pursued a career in water and wastewater resources, until retiring from Bernalillo County in SteveDecember 2011 to become a biology instructor at CNM. He continues to represent Bernalillo County on the Water Protection Advisory Board, serves as Chairman of the Ciudad Soil and Water Conservation District and has been an Open Space Trail Watch Volunteer for several years.

David Belford, Vice President

Board member since 2016. David moved to New Mexico in 2010 from the Boston area. He received his undergraduate degree in Forestry and was a private consulting forester for 10 years in southern New Hampshire, where he also served as vice president of his local conservation commission. In 1990, David went back to school to receive a degree in social work and has served as a therapist, program manager, supervisor, national presenter and consultant. He is a firm believer in the connection between time we spend in nature and our well-being, and is an avid stroller of mountain tops and open spaces.

Monica Yaple, Treasurer

Board member since 2015. Monica Yaple, CPA, has served as the OSA Treasurer since 2015. She holds a Bachelor’s in Business Administration from Hardin-Simmons University in Abilene, Texas. Monica has been an Albuquerque resident since 2001 and enjoys hiking, biking and running in Albuquerque’s Open Space areas.

Marsha Dunlap, Secretary

Board member since 2018. Passionate hikers, Marsha and her husband chose to move to Albuquerque in 2013 drawn by the amazing sky and the vast landscape. After graduating with a BS degree in Clinical Science from San Francisco State University, Marsha worked for 30 plus years primarily for Stanford Hospital and UC Berkeley in the clinical laboratory setting. She is also a 2016 graduate of the Bernalillo County Master Naturalist Program and has been a Trail Watch and Garden Volunteer for Albuquerque Open Space since 2015 while continuing to work part-time for the UNM School of Medicine.

Comments are closed.